The Let Down

I had it all planned.
It has been planned for months,
Even years.

The build up was immense,
I thought I knew
That my plans were superb.

I thought I knew
What I was getting myself into,
I thought I knew.

Four weeks after I started,
I realized my mistakes,
The grand flaw in my plans.

Thinking that what they claimed,
Would be the truth,
That what I was told, would hold.

Instead I find myself,
In rooms full of people I can’t stand,
Listening to authorities who need new information.

I sit in rooms,
Watching experts speak like fools,
And fools absorbing the poison into their blood.

One by one I see them fall,
Fall into the pit of assumptions and bigotry,
Knowing I can’t help them.

Knowing that I already fell myself,
Into a pit less populated,
Into the pit of despair.

Despair because no one will save you,
And the time to save yourself has passed,
So you just wait for the piling shit to bear you to the surface.

Where you can once again,
Hope for a better choice,
A better class.

___________________________________________________________

I wish I had picked different classes, but alas I am stuck. The time for switching is over. Hopefully I can make it through the semester without storming out of a classroom.
I hope all your semesters have started off better than mine 🙂

Leave a comment