Visits

I’m always the one to go the extra mile, literally,
I live in the outskirts of town,
So I must travel in.

Those in the city,
Fear the open freeway,
And where it might lead them.

As if the freeway might suddenly,
Change direction,
And bear them into Hell.

They assume I know the secret,
Of safe passage,
Of miles free of charge.

They assume since I live outside,
That I must be able to afford a trip,
Into the pit of Hell.

Little did they know,
That I have just as little money,
And that what I do have can’t make frivolous trips.

Little did they know,
That it isn’t the road out to fear,
But the road back in.

That the city is a danger,
That I conquer my fear,
Because sometimes life requires a trip to Hell.

One of these days,
They will venture out,
And realize they don’t want to go back in.

_______________________________________________________

So I have friends who always want me to travel into town when I’m not headed that way.  (I live 20 miles out) I have one in particular who would say she was coming out and then find an excuse not to come, and usually inform me at the time she was meant to arrive. She recently moved out of state and is already asking when I will be going to see her. Honestly I’m a poor college kid, so probably not for awhile. Every time she says it I feel bad, but I know I can’t promise to go. I don’t have the money, or time (i work too) to take a trip to see her. Plus, why should I always be the one to go see her? it is infuriating.

On a lighter note, I hope your week is going well. And remember tomorrow is the last day of the week 🙂

Leave a comment